I Love Simple Acts of Kindness

AllergiesYesterday, I stood in one of the longest checkout lines I’d ever seen. Apparently, everyone in my neighborhood decided to go to the store at the same time. It was one of those days already, and my allergies were killing me. Killing me. I wouldn’t have gone anywhere out into the pollen-filled air, but I had to get a few necessities; allergy medicine and coffee.

http://www.hartleyscoffeebar.co.uk/uploads/2/9/4/8/2948104/781641_orig.jpghartleyscoffeebar.co.uk

Yes, coffee is a necessity, you’re only fooling yourself, dear reader, if you think otherwise. I was not-so-patiently waiting my turn when the lady in front of me, who has a completely filled cart, glanced back at me. I was sure I was going to get a look of mild disgust, one that read “tough luck, we all have to wait you know,” but instead, she smiled and waved me in front of her. I smiled back gratefully, said thank you probably more times than was appropriate and awkwardly turned to face forward. I still had to wait in the longest line since the opening of “Lord of the Rings”, but it was at least a little more pleasant thanks to a stranger’s simple act of kindness

Leave a comment